Proud Mummy

September 23, 2010 § 2 Comments

Little Miss A has been going to nursery since she was 8 months old. Purely because I have to work. When she turned three, she came home with a “sounds folder” which is basically a sheet of letters that nursery encourage the children to learn one by one.
Little Miss A was eager to learn her sounds so we have been encouraging it over the last two months. I would never push my daughter to learn anything she didn’t want to but as she actually asks to do her sounds we have been playing sound games every day.

Yesterday she came home from nursery with a sheet of five three letter words. I was amazed as she has flown through her sounds for each letter and has now moved onto words.
Part of me thinks she is too young to be learning how to spell and read words, but the other part of me understands that if she wants to learn I should go with it as she will get a great start for school next year.

Do you encourage your children to learn sounds and words?

§ 2 Responses to Proud Mummy

  • Laura says:

    I would definitely encourage her. My mother in law is a nursery teacher and she got on at me for teaching my son loads of things before he came to nursery (he only just started at the age of 3 this August) because she said he'd be bored. I thought that was a load of nonsense! If your child started walking then you'd encourage them to do it so why not do the same with learning. So long as they are ready and willing then I don't see the harm! Well done to your little girl!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Proud Mummy at Mum's Survival Guides.

meta

